The Netherlands

The Netherlands

Travel Photography


The Netherlands consists of twelve provinces, and it borders Germany to the east, and Belgium to the south, with a North Sea coastline to the north and west. The official language is Dutch, and its four largest cities in the Netherlands are Amsterdam, Rotterdam, The Hague and Utrecht. Amsterdam is the country's most populous city and the capital, and Rotterdam is the second largest city in the country. It is in the province of South Holland and is known for its university, riverside setting, lively cultural life, maritime heritage and modern architecture. The near-complete destruction of the city centre in the World War II has resulted in a varied architectural landscape, including many skyscrapers.

Zaanse Schans is a neighbourhood of Zaandam, near Zaandijk. It is best known for its collection of windmills and wooden houses that were relocated here from the wider region north of Amsterdam for preservation. Two of the windmills in Zaanse Schans are preserved in their original site where they were first constructed, and therefore don't make up part of the relocated structures. It has developed into an international tourist destination with several million visitors every year.


  • Category : Travel Photography
  • Locations : Rotterdam, Zaanse Schans
Back to Portfolio